CLIENT

Established in 1998, Emile Chouriet is a prestigious Swiss watch manufacturer, based in Geneva, the home of Swiss watchmaking. The manufacturer continues the art of watchmaking, bequeathing their heritage of craftsmanship to current and future generations. The elegant, original, unique design of their watches double wings and the unique flared shape represent the DNA of the brand.

 

NEEDS

The automatic movement of every Emile Chouriet watch is manufactured and tested with the greatest attention to detail from the brand’s watchmakers. Wishing to raise awareness of the sophistication of their watch movements, the client was looking for a fun touchscreen application for its booth at Baselworld.

The application needed to present the movement functioning, and enable users to explore it on interactive panels.

SOLUTION

Emile Chouriet uses the SolidWorks solution to design their watch movements. In the search for an additional business solution, the manufacturer choses Tell Watch, AiM’s Computer-Aided Design (CAD) software, with its advanced design, kinematics and analysis functions for watch movements.

Satisfied with this first collaboration, and given AiM’s dual expertise in the fields of mobile application development and watchmaking, the manufacturer decided to entrust AiM with the creation of its interactive application.

The application consists of three modules, offering users the options of viewing in-house brand videos, exploring a watch and its movement details, and having fun by attempting to reconstruct the movement.

To create the last two modules, AiM used CAD models designed by the manufacturer’s watchmakers. Step files were uploaded into Tell Watch, then into AiM’s Tell Rendering solution (to include and display all watch models), before integrating them into the application.

The application architecture is based on Adobe Air, a cross-platform technology for fluid handling of 2D and 3D animations. The final program can be distributed as a stand-alone application for PC (and Mac), and on iPads.

“We appreciate the AiM team going into uncharted territory with us to develop an interactive application for our brand. It’s always a challenge to imagine things that do not yet exist, and to get the right result”, said Sophie Depéry, Art Director at Emile Chouriet.

BENEFITS

  • A Geneva company active in the Watchmaking sector for many years
  • A mixed team of watchmaker consultants and developers
  • A Technology Monitoring and R&D Department to offer state-of-the-art technologies
  • A simple, stable, sustainable and reusable interactive application (with the option to change the videos and watch movements easily)

LE CLIENT

Créée en 1998, Emile Chouriet est une prestigieuse marque horlogère suisse, implantée à Genève, berceau de l’horlogerie Suisse. Héritière d’un précieux savoir-faire, la manufacture perpétue l’art horloger et lègue le patrimoine de la bienfacture aux générations actuelles et futures.
Sa particularité ? Le design élégant, original et unique de ses montres : les ailes doubles et leur forme évasée unique représentent l’ADN de la marque.

 

LE BESOIN

Le mouvement automatique de chaque montre Emile Chouriet est manufacturé et testé avec la plus grande attention des horlogers de la marque. Souhaitant faire découvrir la sophistication des mouvements de ses montres, notre client a souhaité s’équiper d’une application ludique sur support tactile pour animer son stand à l’occasion de Baselworld.

L’application devait donc présenter le mouvement stylisé en fonctionnement et devait également permettre à l’utilisateur de l’explorer au travers de tableaux interactifs (jeux).

LA SOLUTION

Emile Chouriet utilise la solution SolidWorks pour la conception de ses mouvements de montres. Souhaitant s’équiper d’une solution métier complémentaire, la manufacture a choisi Tell Watch, notre logiciel de Conception Assistée par Ordinateur (CAO) qui offre des fonctionnalités avancées de conception, de cinématique et d’analyses de mouvements horlogers.

Satisfait de cette première collaboration, et au vu de notre double compétence dans le domaine du développement d’applications mobiles et dans le domaine de l’horlogerie, la manufacture a décidé de confier la création de cette application interactive à AiM.

L’application se compose de trois modules et donne la possibilité aux utilisateurs de visualiser des vidéos institutionnelles de la marque, d’explorer la montre et son mouvement en détail et de jouer (en essayant par exemple de reconstituer le mouvement).

Pour créer les deux derniers modules, AiM a utilisé les modèles conçus en CAO par les horlogers de la manufacture. Les fichiers Step ont été transférés dans Tell Watch, puis dans notre solution Tell Rendering (qui permet d’habiller et de mettre en scène tous modèles horlogers), avant d’être intégrés dans l’application.

L’architecture de l’application se base sur Adobe Air car il s’agit d’une technologie mature et multiplateforme qui gère de manière très fluide les animations 3D et 2D. Le programme final est distribuable sous forme d’application autonome sur PC (possible sur Mac également) et sur iPad Air 2 ou supérieur.

« Nous avons apprécié que l’équipe d’AiM parte en terre inconnue avec nous et développe une innovation interactive pour notre marque. C’est toujours un challenge d’imaginer ce qui n’existe pas encore et le résultat est au rendez-vous », précise Sophie Depéry, Art Director chez Emile Chouriet.

BENEFICES POUR LE CLIENT

  • Une entreprise genevoise active sur le secteur de l’Horlogerie depuis de nombreuses années
  • Une équipe mixte regroupant consultants horlogers et développeurs
  • Un département Veille Technologie et R&D pour proposer des technologies à l’état de l’art
  • Une application interactive simple, stable, pérenne et réutilisable (possibilité de changer les vidéos et mouvements horlogers facilement)