CLIENT

The client, a Swiss watchmaker specialised in manufacturing high-precision watches, meets the extremely strict standards of Swiss watchmaking. Its reputation is founded on the quality and sophistication of these watches. Mastery of these features is the key to the company’s success. They have encouraged the quality department to innovate by using new technology to support the manufacturing and method departments.

 

NEEDS

Use of paper-based  documentation and forms to track manufacturing orders makes the process cumbersome and inefficient. The assembler watchmakers are unable to report quality issues found in real time during the assembly of a watch or a movement.

Computer access on workbenches would greatly facilitate the process, in particular to track time spent on assembly and inspection, key to the effective re-planning of the manufacturing process. Unfortunately, the size of the workbenches does not allow for a conventional computer workstation.

SOLUTION

Thanks to its experience in watchmaking with Tell Watch (CAD) software  and skills in mobile application development, AiM came up with the idea of an original solution.

This solution is based on the use of a reduced-size touchscreen unit (an Android tablet). The unit takes up very little space on the workbench and provides access to a stand-alone database of all the information necessary to track the manufacturing order (assembly instructions, operations, components, statistics and faults). It can also display useful rich multimedia content (photos, diagrams, videos).

Finally, the application ergonomics is optimised for use by assembler watchmakers, who work with gloves.

BENEFITS

  • Ergonomics fully adapted to the workplace (workbench) with a “finger”-controlled application (no mouse or keyboard)
  • Rich, dynamic multimedia content.
  • Manufacturing process tracking.
  • Instantaneous fault escalation.
  • Real-time product quality control.

LE CLIENT

Notre client est une manufacture horlogère suisse, spécialisée dans la fabrication de montres de très haute précision respectant les normes de qualité extrêmement strictes de l’horlogerie Suisse. La qualité et la sophistication de ces montres font leur réputation. La maîtrise de ces éléments constitue la clef de succès de l’entreprise. Elle incite le département qualité à innover en utilisant les nouvelles technologies au service des départements productions et méthodes.

 

LE BESOIN

L’utilisation de supports papiers (documentation et formulaires) dans le suivi des ordres de fabrications, rend le processus lourd et peu efficace. Il ne permet pas aux horlogers monteurs de signaler en temps réel les problèmes de qualité rencontrés pendant l’assem­blage d’une montre ou d’un mouvement.

Un accès informatique sur les établis faciliterait grandement le processus et permettrait notamment un suivi des temps passés sur les tâches d’assemblage et de contrôle, la clé pour une replanification efficace du processus de production. Malheureusement, la surface de l’établi ne permet pas de mettre en place un poste de travail informatique classique.

LA SOLUTION

AiM, fort de son expérience dans le milieu horloger avec son produit Tell Watch (CAO) et de ses compétences dans le développement d’applications mobiles, a eu l’idée d’une solution originale répondant à ce problème.

Cette solution est basée sur l’utilisation d’une unité tactile de taille réduite (tablette Android). Cette unité occupe très peu de place sur l’établi, elle permet d’accéder à une base de données autonome contenant toutes les informations nécessaires au suivi de l’ordre de fabrication (instructions de montage, opérations, compo­sants, statistiques et défauts). Elle permet également d’afficher de riches éléments multimédia très utiles (photos, schémas, vidéos).

L’ergonomie de l’application est optimisée pour permettre son utilisation par des horlogers monteurs qui travaillent avec des gants.

BENEFICES POUR LE CLIENT

  • Ergonomie totalement adaptée à la place de travail (établi) et application pilotable « au doigt » (sans souris ni clavier)
  • Apport de contenus multimédia riches et dynamiques.
  • Suivi du processus de production.
  • Remontée instantanée des défauts.
  • Contrôle en temps réel de la qualité des produits.