CLIENT

The client is Hublot, the watch manufacturer whose head office is based in Nyon, Switzerland and is a member of the LVMH Group, the world’s leader for luxury products.
Established in 1980, Hublot excels in the Art of Fusion of materials in its timepieces.

 

NEEDS

The Hublot factory designs its own watch movements, including the famous Unico, using CAD. A few years ago, the factory decided to “dictate” the use of only one generic CAD software (SolidWorks), in order to streamline its workflow and, especially, to facilitate the exchange of information between the various specialists involved in the process of creating a watch.

Although it had some advantages  such as a gateway to machine tools, the chosen solution did not gather together all the features and know-how required for watch movements design.

SOLUTION

Therefore, Hublot’s watch movement designers chose Tell Watch as a complementary tool and use it, among other things, to kick off their 2D design and to make the calculations, kinematic and watch’s springs analysis. What is more, Tell Watch has gateways with most of the generic off-the-shelf CAD software, enabling designers to directly transfer a complete CAD design, in both directions, while retaining the construction tree particular to each software.

« There is currently no generally adopted design tool for watch making. Tell Watch is a true Swiss Army knife; it enables rapid design work and its functions are well thought-out. The bridge between Tell Watch and SolidWorks saves me a lot of time; when I do a plan layout in SolidWorks, I can very quickly and easily reproduce the design in Tell Watch for kinematic verification and to check conformity of the movement. If I have a correction to make, I only need to change a sketch in Tell Watch, re-import it into SolidWorks, and the corrections are made automatically “, says Christophe Lyner “I also appreciate the proximity, flexibility and responsiveness of the team who we can easily turn to if we need assistance with the solution. I can’t work without Tell Watch “, he adds.

The Tell Watch R&D team also can add specific functionality, thus offering dedicated software to watch making manufacturers. For instance, the Tell Watch development team created a macro for Hublot in order to calculate a chronograph-heart with a constant angle, while minimizing the design time.

BENEFITS

  • Easy 2D design, thanks to the library of components to NIHS standards
  • Exchange sketches or assemblies between software through gateways
  • Ability to replay old .dxf files to re-record them in a current format
  • Rapidity of reading and the ability to isolate components quickly
  • Software which is 100% Swiss, adapted for the watchmaker’s craft
  • Development team close to its clients / Development of customized functions on demand

See more about Tell Watch

LE CLIENT

Notre client est la maison Hublot, manufacture horlogère dont le siège social est basé à Nyon en Suisse et faisant partie du Groupe LVMH, leader mondial du luxe. Fondée dans les années 1980, Hublot excelle dans l’Art de la Fusion des matériaux de ses garde-temps. Rencontre avec Christophe Lyner, Constructeur Mouvement chez Hublot.

 

LE BESOIN

La manufacture Hublot conçoit ses propres mouvements de montres en CAO, dont le célèbre Unico. Il y a quelques années, la manufacture a pris la décision « d’imposer » l’utilisation d’un logiciel de CAO générique unique (SolidWorks) afin de rationaliser son flux de production, et surtout pour faciliter les échanges d’informations entre les différents intervenants impliqués dans le processus de création d’une montre.

Bien qu’ayant des avantages (passerelle avec la machine d’usinage, fonctions de mise en plan etc.), la solution choisie ne regroupe pas l’intégralité des fonctionnalités nécessaires à la conception d’une montre.

LA SOLUTION

Les concepteurs de Hublot ont donc choisi Tell Watch comme solution complémentaire et l’utilisent entre autres pour démarrer leur conception en 2D, réaliser les calculs, les analyses cinématiques et les analyses de ressorts. Qui plus est, Tell Watch dispose de passerelles avec la plupart des logiciels de CAO génériques du marché (dont SolidWorks), permettant ainsi aux concepteurs de transférer une conception CAO complète, dans les deux sens, tout en conservant l’arbre de construction propre à chaque logiciel (sans avoir besoin d’utiliser le .dxf).

« Il n’existe aujourd’hui aucun outil de conception grand public adapté à l’horlogerie. Tell Watch est un véritable couteau suisse ; il permet une conception rapide et les fonctions sont bien pensées. Le pont entre Tell Watch et SolidWorks me fait gagner beaucoup de temps ; lorsque je fais la mise en plan dans SolidWorks, je peux très rapidement et facilement repasser la conception dans Tell Watch pour refaire une vérification cinématique et valider la conformité du mécanisme. Si j’ai une correction à faire, il me suffit de modifier une esquisse dans Tell Watch, de la réimporter dans SolidWorks et les corrections se font automatiquement », précise Christophe Lyner. « D’autre part, j’apprécie beaucoup la proximité, la flexibilité et la réactivité de l’équipe vers qui l’on peut se tourner facilement si on a besoin de support sur la solution. Tell Watch est irremplaçable », rajoute-t-il.

L’équipe R&D de Tell Watch offre également la possibilité de pouvoir créer des fonctionnalités dédiées à des besoins spécifiques, offrant ainsi aux constructeurs horlogers un logiciel métier sur mesure. C’est ainsi que l’équipe de développement de Tell Watch a créé une macro pour M. Lyner, permettant de calculer un cœur de chrono avec un angle de tirage constant, lui faisant gagner un temps précieux.

BENEFICES POUR LE CLIENT

  • Facilité de conception en 2D grâce à la bibliothèque des composants normés NIHS
  • Echange d’esquisses ou d’assemblages entre les logiciels facilité grâce aux passerelles
  • Possibilité de relire des anciens fichiers dxf pour les réenregistrer dans un format actuel
  • Rapidité de lecture et possibilité d’isoler des composants rapidement
  • Un logiciel 100% suisse adapté au métier de l’horloger
  • Equipe de développement proche de ses clients / développement de fonctions personnalisées sur demande

En savoir plus sur Tell Watch