CLIENT

The client is the museum of the Red Cross, namely  the “International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum”. It offers visitors a unique opportunity to become familiar with the history and current challenges of humanitarian action a permanent exhibition: “The Humanitarian Adventure”.

 

NEEDS

In 2015, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum launched a call for tenders to find a new partner to take on the full management of their current IT infrastructure and add more value while optimising IT costs.

Among others, the objectives were to sustain current infrastructure for 2 years, to solve server capacity issues, to provide user support management and more specifically to launch a first “Cloud” approach, with the implementation of Office 365 for messaging.

SOLUTION

Apart from the IT infrastructure redesign and the implementation of user support management, it was AiM’s innovative approach that really won over the client: firstly, the proposal to migrate to Office 365 + Exchange Online, then the proposal to switch to Microsoft Azure Cloud Platform.

In January 2016, AiM switched the Museum to Microsoft Office 365 + Exchange Online cloud systems. The Museum as non-profit foundation benefits from Microsoft for Non-profits programme and receives favoured prices for licences.

In 2017, as originally planned, the second stage of migration began, letting the client’s local infrastructure to be switched to Microsoft Azure Cloud Platform.  At this stage, the client benefited also from Microsoft Azure programme for non-profit organisations special offering.

A decision was then made to migrate the entire Museum infrastructure to the Microsoft Azure cloud environment, and to take advantage of the migration to upgrade the servers to Windows 2016. At that time, AiM also proposed to migrate the network cables and security equipment in order to improve user experience and client security,.

These two projects have been particularly rewarding for the client, enabling the Museums to take advantage of the cutting-edge services offered by Microsoft Azure and Office 365 cloud. This environment as proven to be well suited to the client needs in terms of costs, security, development, technology and operations.

BENEFITS

  • Reduction in direct and indirect costs related to hardware maintenance, through the removal of the local server infrastructure
  • Reduced risk related to infrastructure hardware issues and security improvements
  • Reduction in direct and indirect costs related to messaging infrastructure hardware
  • Financial gain through the Microsoft for Non-profits programme
  • Benefit from all the Microsoft Azure services, including cloud backup, and all the MS Office + Exchange Online applications

LE CLIENT

Notre client est le Musée International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant Rouge. L’exposition permanente du Musée international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge « L’aventure humanitaire » offre aux visiteurs une occasion unique de se familiariser avec l’histoire et les défis contemporains de l’action humanitaire.

 

LE BESOIN

Courant 2015, le Musée International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant Rouge a lancé un appel d’offre pour trouver un nouveau partenaire capable de prendre en charge la gestion complète de leur infrastructure IT en place et amenant davantage de valeur-ajoutée tout en optimisant les coûts informatiques.

Les objectifs étaient, entre autres, de pérenniser l’infrastructure actuelle sur 2 ans, de résoudre les problèmes de capacité des serveurs, d’assurer la gestion du support utilisateurs et surtout d’entamer une première approche « Cloud » avec la mise en place d’Office 365 pour la messagerie.

LA SOLUTION

Outre la refonte de l’infrastructure IT et la mise en place de la gestion du support aux utilisateurs, ce sont surtout les idées novatrices d’AiM présentées dans l’offre qui ont séduit le client, à savoir : proposition de migration à Office 365 + Exchange Online, dans un premier temps, puis, dans un second temps, proposition de basculer sur Microsoft Azure Cloud Platform.

En janvier 2016, AiM bascule donc le Musée sur les système cloud Microsoft Office 365 + Exchange Online. Le Musée étant une fondation à but non lucratif, il bénéficie du programme Microsoft NonProfit for Organization et dispose de licences à prix préférentiels.

En 2017, tel qu’initialement prévu, la seconde phase de migration visant à basculer l’infrastructure locale du client sur les environnements Microsoft Azure Cloud Platform a débuté. Microsoft proposant également un programme spécial Azure pour les organisations à but non lucratif, notre client a pu en bénéficier.

Il a ensuite été décidé de migrer l’infrastructure complète du Musée sur l’environnement cloud Microsoft Azure et de profiter de cette migration pour effectuer une montée de version des serveurs en Windows 2016. En parallèle, afin d’améliorer l’expérience utilisateurs et la sécurité du client, AiM a également proposé de migrer les lignes réseau et les équipements de sécurité.

Ces deux projets ont été particulièrement enrichissants pour notre client, puisqu’ils lui ont permis de bénéficier de tous les services de dernière génération proposés par le cloud Microsoft Azure et Office 365, tout en bénéficiant d’un environnement adapté à ses besoins en termes de coûts, de sécurité, d’évolution, de technologie et d’exploitation.

BENEFICES POUR LE CLIENT

  • Réduction des coûts directs et indirects liés à la maintenance hardware grâce à la suppression de l’infrastructure serveur locale
  • Diminution des risques liés aux problèmes matériel de l’infrastructure et amélioration de la sécurité
  • Réduction des coûts directs et indirects liés au matériel de l’infrastructure de messagerie
  • Gain financier grâce au programme Microsoft NonProfit Organization,
  • Bénéfice de tous les services Microsoft Azure, y compris les services de backups cloud, et de toutes les applications MS Office + Exchange Online