CLIENT

The École d’Horlogerie de Genève (Geneva Watchmaking School) trains more than 260 students for the Federal Certificate of Capacity (CFC) and the bachelor degree diplomas. The school objective is to train professionals in watch making trades, to pass on to them the watch making know-how inherited from Swiss culture. The training is based on the use of Tell Watch a Computer-Aided Design (CAD) software developed and marketed by AiM.

 

NEEDS

As well as training students in computer-aided design, the school takes part in specific projects. For one of these projects, the restoration of the Ecogia clock, the school sent around 60 CFPT (Professional Technical Training Centre) students to dismantle the clock, digitize and restore its components.

The students spent more than 1024 hours digitizing all the clocks components, exposing the kinematics and mechanical constraints of this venerable piece of Swiss clockmaking history. This enabled them to restore the clock in accordance with best practice.

SOLUTION

AiM develops and markets Tell Watch, a CAD software package with features covering the specific needs of the watchmaking industry. Tell Watch enables the study, design and 3D simulation of most complex watch movements.

Its usability, the creative freedom it offers and the reliability of its results make Tell Watch a unique software to explore a world of watch making innovative solutions, while keeping development time and costs to a minimum.

.

BENEFITS

  • A vertical solution for watch makers, compliant with FHS standards.
  • A kinematic solution to validates watch movements design.
  • An easy to use, time saving solution for R&D.
  • Compatible with main market CAD tools, with interfaces letting transfer complete assemblies with no loss of information.
  • Options to create realistic 3D animations of the movement.
  • Minimum configuration requirements: 2 GB of memory, three-button mouse, 3D graphics card

LE CLIENT

L’Ecole d’Horlogerie de Genève forme plus de 260 élèves aux diplômes de CFC et de Technicien(ne) ES. Elle a pour vocation de former des professionnels aux métiers de la haute horlogerie, de leur transmettre le savoir-faire horloger hérités de la culture Suisse. Pour cela, elle utilise le logiciel de conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO) Tell Watch développé par AiM.

 

LE BESOIN

Outre le besoin d’initier les étudiants à la conception assistée par ordinateur grâce à un logiciel professionnel, l’école participe à des projets spécifiques. Ainsi, dans le cadre de la restauration de l’horloge d’Ecogia, l’école a pu faire participer une soixantaine d’élèves du CFPT – Technique au démontage de l’horloge, à la numérisation et à la restauration des pièces.

Plus de 1024 heures ont été consacrées à la numérisation des pièces, permettant ainsi aux élèves de visualiser la cinématique et les contraintes mécaniques de ce vénérable témoin de l’histoire horlogère suisse, et ce afin de le restaurer dans les règles de l’art.

LA SOLUTION

AiM développe et commercialise TelI Watch, un logiciel de CAO qui offre un ensemble de fonctionnalités répondant aux besoins spécifiques de l’industrie horlogère. TelI Watch permet l’étude, la conception et la simulation en 3D des mouvements de montres les plus complexes.

Sa facilité d’utilisation, la liberté de création qu’il permet et la fiabilité des résultats qu’il fournit, font de TelI Watch le seul logiciel capable d’offrir la possibilité d’explorer un monde de solutions innovantes, tout en réduisant le temps de développement et les coûts au minimum.

BENEFICES POUR LE CLIENT

  • Solution adaptée au métier, prenant en compte les nomenclatures standards de la FHS.
  • Simulation cinématique permettant de valider la conception du mécanisme.
  • Simplicité d’utilisation, permettant de gagner du temps dans la phase de R&D
  • Interopérabilité avec les logiciels de CAO du marché permettant à tout moment de transférer des assemblages complets sans perte d’information.
  • Possibilité de réaliser des animations réalistes du mouvement en fonctionnement
  • Configuration requise minime (2 GB de mémoire, souris 3 boutons, carte graphique 3D)